January 26, 2022 - Wednesday
Website Name Image
Weather icon
26.85 ℃, Scattered clouds
Davao City, Philippines

Panlilio re-elected as president of SBP

December 07, 2021 - Tuesday 3:12 PM by GDM

Article Banner Image Photo: PLDT

Al Panlilio was re-elected as president of the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP).


Panlilio, who took over as head of the country's basketball federation in 2016, will now be serving his second term.


Senator Sonny Angara and Congressman Robbie Puno were also re-elected as Chairman and Vice-Chairman, respectively.


On the other hand, sports patron Manny V. Pangilinan will remain as SBP's Chairman Emeritus.


“I am thankful for the continued vote of confidence from the movers and shakers of the Philippine basketball community,” said Panlilio.


“Now that the elections are over, it’s time to put in even more work as we traverse through this pandemic while still having our eyes fixed on our co-hosting of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023. I’m excited to continue working with the re-elected officials and welcome the new members of the SBP’s Board of Trustees.”


Executive director Sonny Barrios, treasurer Ricky Palou, and corporate secretary Atty. Marievic Añon was were also re-elected to their positions.


PBA chairman and TNT Tropang Giga governor Ricky Vargas was elected as vice president while league commissioner Willie Marcial, TerraFirma governor Bobby Rosales, and Alaska governor Dickie Bachman were given seats in the Board of Trustees.


SBP Deputy Executive Director Butch Antonio served as the Comelec Chairman during the SBP Election.