September 20, 2021 - Monday
Website Name Image
Weather icon
23.85 ℃, Overcast clouds
Davao City, Philippines

PH to send 3 teams for Asian Club Volleyball Championship

September 09, 2021 - Thursday 6:09 PM by GDM

Article Banner Image

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation’s (PNVF) will send three national teams, both from men and women, in the upcoming Asian Club Volleyball Championship in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand. 

PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara announced the women's division will have Team Rebisco and Team Choco Mucho, while the men's squad will be from Team Rebisco.

Rebisco will be handled by national team head coach Arthur "Odjie" Mamon, while Brazilian consultant Jorge Edson Souza de Brito will take the coaching helm for Choco Mucho.

Headlining Team Rebisco are skipper Aby Maraño, Eya Laure, Jema Galanza, Faith Nisperos, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Mhicaela Belen, Imee Hernandez, Ivy Lacsina, Rhea Dimaculangan, Kamille Cal, Jennifer Nierva, and Bernadette Pepito.

Iris Tonelada will be Team Choco Mucho's team captain that features Kalei Mau, MJ Phillips, Tin Tiamzon, Kat Tolentino, Mylene Paat, Kianna Dy, Ria Meneses, Majoy Baron, Dell Palomata, Deanna Wong, and Dawn Macandili.

The women's squad will leave on September 27 for the women’s championship which will start from October 1 to 7. 

Meanwhile, Dante Alinsunurin will still call the shots for the men’s team after leading the squad to a 2019 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games silver. 

Captain John Vic De Guzman will be joined by Jessie Lopez, Ysay Marasigan, Rex Intal, Mark Alfafara, Nico Almendras, Kim Malabunga, Ish Polvorosa, Francis Saura, Manuel Sumanguid, Josh Retamar, Jao Umandal, Ricky Marcos and JP Bugaoan.

“With these club championships, we are putting in harness the national team program aimed at three major international competitions in 2022,” said Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) president Ramon Suzara. 

“These are the Asian Games in Hangzhou, the Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam and the Asian Senior Women’s Championship that we are hosting in May next year.”